Bacon Soap

While wandering through the house recently, I came across a bar of bacon soap. Looks like bacon, smells like bacon, but it’s a bar of soap. It was a Christmas gag gift from my sister, and it’s been sitting in the towel closet, waiting to be used.

But I’m hesitant to do so. Washing oneself with bacon essence seems to me to be a great way to attract dogs…or vengeful swine. I can’t bring myself to take the risk.

I suspect everyone has some bacon soap in their homes and lives. Those things that we never intend to use, but hang on to for sentimental reasons. So, what to do?

  • I could use it, but that has inherent dangers (see “dogs” and “swine” above).
  • I could toss it, but that risks insulting Beloved Sibling.
  • I could re-gift it, but that also risks insulting Beloved Sibling…not to mention, passing the problem on to someone else.

And so the cured pork cleansing bar sits on the shelf, quietly reminding me with each glance of decisions unmade.

What’s your bacon soap? What are you hanging onto that is not serving you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

