Footprints

“Many people will walk in and out of your life,

but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart.”

Eleanor Roosevelt

You never know which ones will leave those footprints. You encounter many people during a life, some who pass through almost unnoticed and soon forgotten, others who are important for a short time. But some—quite a few, if you’re one of the lucky ones—make a lasting impression and linger forever in your mind and heart.

I recently lost two of the latter. Both left indelible footprints, footprints that will be with me all of my days. One was a visionary who created opportunities for me that I could never have found on my own. The other provided wise counsel at a time when I most needed it. A profound loss, but as they left this earth, they both gave me one final gift.

When someone dies, I find myself re-connecting with people with whom I am linked by shared loss. Whether through phone calls with the sad news, or conversations at  memorial services, it always reminds me that I am blessed with having met many wonderful people in my life.

Perhaps that’s why I enjoy memorial services.  “Enjoy” is probably the wrong word; I don’t wish for someone to die so I can have a rip-roaring time.  “Appreciate” might be more accurate. I find joining together to honor a departed friend to be uplifting rather than somber; inspirational rather than sad. I always leave feeling grateful for what I have, and for having known the person.

And that was the gift I was given this week. A re-connection with old friends, lost for a time, but returning to remind me of their important in my life. And the chance to tell them what they have meant to me, to show them the footprints they have left on my heart.

asd

Today’s Fact Cetera

Every year 5000 Christmas wreaths are placed on the tombstones at Arlington Cemetery, as a reminder of the sacrifices American soldiers have made for their country.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Footprints

  1. Bev

    I could not have said it better myself…
    nicely done dear friend
    Thank you

  2. Cammie Kegel

    so sorry for your losses

Leave a Reply

