Surgical Adventures—Round 2

Back in March I indulged in a post about my first ever surgical adventure. It went so well that I am heading back in to the world of anesthesia, surgery and rehab. But this time I’m ramping it up.

By this time tomorrow I’ll have a new hip. And no doubt be experiencing the wonderful world of painkillers. I’m armed with the experience of pre-op and surgery, but this time I’ll be spending a night or two in the hospital—something I’ve never done before. And I’ll be entering into the rehab process to unlearn all the habits I’ve created to deal with the constant pain and limited mobility that is the charm of an arthritic joint. Can’t wait.

I have been given lots of information on what to expect: a 90 page manual, a 2-hr class, discussions with the surgeon, rehab nurse and various other health care professionals. I was surprised that the actual surgery takes only 1 1/2 to 2 hours; I’ll spend more time being prepped and in post-op than on the table. And I’m happy to know how common this procedure is these days.

As I set forth on the adventure, I have some assumptions:

  • Though the rehab process will be challenging, I believe that any discomfort I feel will be significantly better than how I feel today.
  • I will come out the other side with remarkable improvement in quality of life, movement and pain relief.
  • I will learn lots of new things about the world of health care, the people who provide that care, and myself.
  • My time in the hospital won’t be characterized by rest and relaxation; my care team will have me up and doing rehab work throughout.
  • Something will surprise me.

Check back for future posts to see how accurate my assumptions turn out to be.

In the meantime, I’ll be counting my blessings and looking forward to the fine cuisine that will no doubt be available.

See you on the other side, dear readers!

asd

Today’s Fact Cetera

The hardest bone in the human body is the jawbone.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Surgical Adventures—Round 2

  1. Bev

    Hi,
    I as of yet have not experienced what you are about too
    I have many friends who have…
    their best advise (that you didn’t request of me) here it is anyway
    PT is critical to your recovery some folks suggest being in a nursing facility where you actually do the PT several time a day with lots of expert help
    It also may provide a window of what may be come on life’s path for you
    or not…
    You will meet new friends and …
    I will come to visit
    Think it over
    Get back to me
    Good luck dear friend

Leave a Reply

